Rules Free Radio May 21

Written by on 05/21/2024

Tuesdays 2pm – 5pm  EST Rules Free Radio With Steve  Caplan

On this week’s Rules Free Radio with Steve Caplan, we’ll hear new and recent music by Cage The Elephant, Vampire Weekend, Chris Stapleton covering Tom Petty from a forthcoming collection of Country artists doing the music of Tom Petty. New ones from Slash, T-Bone Burnett, Incubus, Kings of Leon, Mick Harvey, Folk duos Hungrytown and Angus and Julia Stone, Uncle Acid and The Deadbeats, Shannon & The Clams, Julian Lage, and a few more. Older music by Spirit, Mountain, Free, Cake, Real Estate, Tommy Keene, The Galileo 7, plus some real classics in the third hour as we remember a prolific sax player that we just lost, David Sanborn. He played with all kinds of artists including The Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Steely Dan, Tony Williams, David Bowie, Jaco Pastorius, Carly Simon, and tons more plus his own solo work. We’ll spend the hour sampling a bit of his varied career.

Cage The Elephant – Shy Eyes

Cake – Frank Sinatra

Vampire Weekend – Classical

Real Estate – Stained Glass

Mountain – Mississippi Queen

Chris Stapleton – I Should Have Known It

Slash (feat. Paul Rodgers) – Born Under a Bad Sign

Free – Sweet Tooth

Slash (feat. Brian Johnson & Steven Tyler) – Killing Floor

Incubus – Echo

Shannon and The Clams – The Moon Is in the Wrong Place

The Galileo 7 – You Tear My Mind Wide Open

Uncle Acid and The Deadbeats – Guidando Veloce Verso la Campagna

Spirit – It’s All the Same

T-Bone Burnett – (I’m Gonna Get Over This) Some Day

Hungrytown – Little Bird

Angus & Julia Stone – I Want You

Kings of Leon – Actual Daydream

Tommy Keene – Shake Some Action

Simone White – As Tears Go By

Mick Harvey – When We Were Beautiful & Young

Sarah Slean – Us and Them

Julia Pratt – Chronos, Cruel Handler

Sarah Shook and The Disarmers – Backsliders

Set 3 

Marissa Anderson & Jim White – Aerie

Julian Lage – 76 –

Mdou Moctar – Takoba –

Khruangbin – A Love International

The Paul Butterfield Blues Band – Morning Blues

The Gil Evans Orchestra – Crosstown Traffic

Jaco Pastorius – Come On, Come Over

David Sanborn – The Peeper

Tony Williams – Hip Skip

Bobby Hutcherson – Delia

Carly Simon – You Belong to Me

David Bowie – Young Americans

Tim Curry – I Do The Rock

Steely Dan – Time Out of Mind

David Sanborn – Butterfat

Tagged as

Bombshell Radio

Current track