Rules Free Radio Apr 18

Written by on 04/18/2023

Tuesdays 2pm – 5pm  EST Rules Free Radio With Steve  Caplan

On the next Rules Free Radio with Steve Caplan, we’ll check out new music from The National, Black Snake Moan, The Plus 4, The Half-Cubes, Nick Eng, Trees Speak, Manchester Orchestra, North Americans, The Hold Steady, and Ruston Kelly. Recent Jazz releases include one from a new collection of the Prestige label albums by Eddie Lockjaw Davis with Shirley Scott, vocalist Angie Wells, and harpist Brandee Younger.

We’ll hear a bunch of classics from the likes of Willie Nile, Jethro Tull, Simon & Garfunkel, The Beatles, The Fuzztones, Chesterfield Kings, The Cramps, Wilson Pickett, Magic Sam, early J. Geils Band, The Impressions with Curtis Mayfield, Dr. Feelgood and Wilko Johnson, Joey Defrancesco, and early Pink Floyd.

In the third hour, we’ll start with some Middle Eastern and tabla grooves, and wrap things up with some new and recent singer-songwriter offerings.

The Hold Steady – Sixers

The National – Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)

Willie Nile – Oatmeal Box

The Blue Things – It Ain’t No Big Thing Babe

Simon and Garfunkel – Blessed

The Beatles – Baby’s in Black

Jethro Tull – We Used To Know

Dead Can Dance – Rakim

Black Snake Moan – Fire

Electric Peace – Case of Dynamite

The Fuzztones – Action Speaks Louder Than Words

The Chesterfield Kings – Outtasite!

The Cramps – Mojo Man From Mars

The Savage Blush – Ether Fever

The Plus 4 – She’s In My Head

The Half-Cubes – The Weakest Shade Of Blue

Nick Eng – Forget About You

Magic Sam – That’s All I Need

The Impressions – Woman’s Got Soul

Wilson Pickett – Three Time Loser

Jimmy Dawkins – We Got Go

J Geils Band – Floyd’s Hotel

Wilko Johnson & Solid Senders – Keep Both Eyes on the Road

Dave Edmunds – From Small Things, Big Things One Day Come

Dr. Feelgood – She Does It Right

Eddie Lockjaw Davis, Shirley Scott, Jerome Richardson, George Duvivier, Arthur Edgehill – Smoke This

Joey DeFrancesco – Get It All

Van Morrison & Georgie Fame & Friends – Sack O’ Woe

Houston Person – Reminiscing at Rudy’s

Angie Wells – Do I Move You

Brandee Younger – You’re a Girl for One Man Only

Trees Speak – Pathways

The Third Mind – Journey In Satchidananda

Tabla Beat Science – Big Brother

Suphala – Bazaar

Anouar Brahem – Parfum De Gitane

Ruston Kelly – Let Only Love Remain

Grizzly Bird – The Lakes

Lena Minder – Nightbirds

Sarah Jarosz – Morning

Manchester Orchestra – Lose You Again

North Americans – Classic Water

Pink Floyd – A Pillow Of Winds

Tagged as

Continue reading

Bombshell Radio

Current track